Saturday, June 21, 2008

BN MPs to attend Dewan Rakyat daily to stop SAPP motion

KUALA LUMPUR, Thurs: Jun 19, 2008

All 140 Barisan Nasional MPs have been ordered to attend the whole duration of the Dewan Rakyat’s three-week meeting beginning next week as a precaution against the Sabah Progressive Party’s bid to file a vote of no-confidence against Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. This was immediately decided at the BN supreme council meeting Abdullah chaired at the Putra World Trade Centre today.

Contrary to expectations, the council did not mete out immediate punishment against the SAPP, including dismissal from the coalition. The coalition preferred to wait for an official explanation from its president Datuk Yong Teck Leeover his declaration in Kota Kinabalu yesterday that the party intends to file the motion at the Dewan Rakyat on Monday through its two representatives, MP for Sepanggar Datuk Eric Enchin Majimbun and MP for Tawau Datuk Dr Chua Soon Bui.

Claiming a variety of reasons relating to the neglect and mistreatment Sabah received from the Federal Government, Yong claimed the party had lost confidence in Abdullah's leadership and demanded his resignation as PM. However, Yong's move was lambasted by all BN leaders, including his own deputy.

This was reaffirmed during the meeting where leaders of the various component parties strongly criticised the SAPP’s intent.

According to BN secretary-general Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor, the BN leaders agreed that the move was “unethical and against the BN spirit.”

No comments: